LiMPETS Exploration

Yesterday, our AP Bio class went on a field trip to the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve in Moss Beach, California. We explored the tide pools and recorded data about the numbers of species and organisms of each species. I learned about the different tidal zones and the conditions that species living there have to adapt to to survive. For example, the low tide zone contains species that are strongly rooted to the ground. This is because the organisms living there have to cling to the rock so that they don’t get swept away by the seawater when the tide is higher. Next, the species living in the tidal zones are constantly being affected by various factors. Human visitors stepping on organisms, the ocean waves eroding the rock the organisms grow on, and the changing tidal levels all impact these organisms and the way they develop and evolve. Third, we learned about the importance of collecting statistical data about these organisms. Biologists need to determine any changes in population over time and figure out the cause of these changes. For example, biologists found that the number of starfish were significantly lowered because of a virus that caused the starfish to fall apart and waste away. Biologists were only able to determine this because of the consistent data that was being recorded about populations in the tidal zone.

When collecting data about these organisms, I kept making connections to information we learned in class. We recently learned about the different phyla of invertebrates, and I found many of the species I read about in class. I also made a connection to our lesson about evolution. In the low tide zones, the organisms that were best able to cling on to the rock and not get washed away survived. These individuals passed on the traits that allowed them to cling on to the rock, and eventually, the species’ gene pool shifted so that most individuals have that trait.

img_1476.jpeg
Picture of the huge chiton we found!

At the tide pools, my group and I found an organism that was significantly bigger than all the other animals in the area. We found a chiton that was bigger than the size of my hand. We weren’t sure what this organism was at first because it didn’t resemble the chitons that we saw in pictures.

This trip made me realize just how much life there is in places we wouldn’t expect. On the way to our spot on the tide pools, I didn’t notice much life except for the seaweeds, but while exploring, I found that every inch of rock has many different species living in that small area. This gave me a new respect for nature and biodiversity in every environment.

I wouldn’t change any aspect of this trip. It was planned very well; we were able to explore the area before we had to start collecting data. The exploration before was like a warm-up for us to prepare to take important data. The trip was equal parts fun and educational, which is the best way to learn. I would definitely recommend this trip for other biology students and those interested in biology. I hope that the next AP Biology class will also be able to do this because this was an amazing learning experience.

Enjoy the pictures from the field trip below!

4 Replies to “LiMPETS Exploration”

  1. Vanessa, I love this blog post! Great summary of what we did on the LIMPETs field trip. When I first arrived, I was so scared to step on the organisms latched onto the rock as I thought that they would break off. But, when the organizer told us that our weight is nothing compared to the shock of waves during high tide, I realized the amazing adaptations that these organisms must have to adapt to an ever-changing environment. I’m still waiting to see how our provided information has helped in tide-pool and climate change research. Thanks for this awesome reflection on this unforgettable day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Super cool I loved reading all about your adventures and looking through so many awesome pictures! Makes me wish I could have come. I’ve learned a lot just from your post and I can tell you have learned a lot on this field trip. I like that this has given you more respect for nature and the biodiversity in the tide pools.

    Like

  3. This blog was very interesting to read, and you seemed to have learned a lot from this field trip. I find it amazing how the tide pool organisms have adapted differently to different environments. I also enjoyed your photos from the trips!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent information about the organisms included and you made some clear connections with class content. There is so much to see at the tide pools. This was the first time I had ever even heard of a gumboot chiton!!! So cool 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment